Apr 19, 2011 14:53:16 GMT -5
Hi,
Thanks for the great tutorial. I was wondering if there is any way to a hyperlink to the global header
Apr 21, 2011 5:41:45 GMT -5
Nice Tutorial! I will definitely be using it and will let you know how it turns out or ask questions if I them.
Thanks~
I'm around and round we go
OP
Moderator
May 25, 2011 2:29:10 GMT -5
Oh gosh. Can't believe that hasn't been found yet haha.
Thanks, its fixed now.
May 26, 2011 16:19:59 GMT -5
Smangii, thank you so much for your tutorial. As a teacher, I wanted to tell you how clear and concise I found your step-by-step instructions to be. If only all tutorials were this easy to follow!
I have a question.
I would like to keep the "Hey..." text in the header. I've already figured out how to change the color with this code:
<script>
document.getElementsByTagName('td')[2].style.color="#ddeeff";
</script>
How do I reposition the text to be right-aligned in the top right corner of the header space?
My board can be found here:
ngvfleetforum.proboards.com
I'm around and round we go
OP
Moderator
May 26, 2011 21:00:28 GMT -5
Smangii, thank you so much for your tutorial. As a teacher, I wanted to tell you how clear and concise I found your step-by-step instructions to be. If only all tutorials were this easy to follow!
I have a question.
I would like to keep the "Hey..." text in the header. I've already figured out how to change the color with this code:
<script>
document.getElementsByTagName('td')[2].style.color="#ddeeff";
</script>
How do I reposition the text to be right-aligned in the top right corner of the header space?
My board can be found here:
ngvfleetforum.proboards.comHi,
Along that code add these two parts:
<script>
document.getElementsByTagName('td')[2].style.color="#ddeeff";
document.getElementsByTagName('td')[2].align="right";
document.getElementsByTagName('td')[2].style.paddingBottom="40px";</script>
You might have to adjust
40px to be larger or smaller, depending on your banner's height.
Thanks for the comments
I tried my best with wording, so I'm glad a teacher approves!
May 27, 2011 11:10:42 GMT -5
Smangii,
Awesome! The align=right didn't work quite like I wanted, but based on how you formatted CSS-like info in javascript, I managed to text-align:right with a little right padding. For others with similar needs, the code I ended up with is:
<script>
document.getElementsByTagName('td')[2].style.color="#ddeeff";
document.getElementsByTagName('td')[2].style.paddingBottom="60px";
document.getElementsByTagName('td')[2].style.textAlign="right";
document.getElementsByTagName('td')[2].style.paddingRight="20px";
</script>
Thanks again, Smangii!
I'm around and round we go
OP
Moderator
May 27, 2011 11:42:45 GMT -5
Whoops.
But no problem, glad it worked out ^^
Jun 1, 2011 19:28:17 GMT -5
I loved your basic elements in setting up a skin, Smangii, and have used them for several skins.
Now, I have run into a problem with a newer skin where I used a lot of new codes.
This is the part that is causing a problem.
/*Adds colored Line on Right of Windows*/
.windowbg, .windowbg2 { border-right: 1px solid #ffffff; }
This is what is happening, I am getting an extra line. This part of the set of codes is one of my favorites. I love how it dresses up the whole board.
I did notice that the repeat seems to start further down a thread, don't know if that is significant, and gets much more pronounced in the siggy area. I also noticed that it does not show up in the admin functions or coding area, definitely it is in the threads, which makes sense, since it is for the Windows areas.
Here is my test site and you can see the extra line in the guest board.
jetsky.proboards.com/index.cgiI love this code, I hope you can help me. JJ
I'm around and round we go
OP
Moderator
Jun 1, 2011 20:31:40 GMT -5
I loved your basic elements in setting up a skin, Smangii, and have used them for several skins.
Now, I have run into a problem with a newer skin where I used a lot of new codes.
This is the part that is causing a problem.
/*Adds colored Line on Right of Windows*/
.windowbg, .windowbg2 { border-right: 1px solid #ffffff; }
This is what is happening, I am getting an extra line. This part of the set of codes is one of my favorites. I love how it dresses up the whole board.
I did notice that the repeat seems to start further down a thread, don't know if that is significant, and gets much more pronounced in the siggy area. I also noticed that it does not show up in the admin functions or coding area, definitely it is in the threads, which makes sense, since it is for the Windows areas.
Here is my test site and you can see the extra line in the guest board.
jetsky.proboards.com/index.cgiI love this code, I hope you can help me. JJ
Hi, let me know if this code works for you, global headers
<style type="text/css">
.windowbg table tr td.windowbg, .windowbg2 table tr td.windowbg2 {
border: none;
background: none;
}
</style>
Jun 1, 2011 21:54:25 GMT -5
I didn't work, Smangii, and it messed up the site. I don't know what happened.
I deleted everything in the headers and footers and went and got working codes and loaded them, but the menu button area is now messed up and I can't fix it.
For some strange reason, the Register button has shown up when I am logged in. I guess the Proboards codes have somehow become affected?
I'm around and round we go
OP
Moderator
Jun 1, 2011 22:21:25 GMT -5
That only happens if you make "Disable Signups" a Yes in your general settings.
Check that first?...
Jun 1, 2011 22:33:45 GMT -5
Well, I am so impressed that I am almost speechless, you are so right, Smangii, that was the problem, the disable signups. It's just a test site and I don't want members signing up.
I have the code snippet you provided in place, but the nice little additional line is not showing.
I love that feature, but won't get all bent out of shape if it can't be fixed. The main thing is the extra line is gone. *sigh*
I'm around and round we go
OP
Moderator
Jun 1, 2011 22:46:44 GMT -5
Well, I am so impressed that I am almost speechless, you are so right, Smangii, that was the problem, the disable signups. It's just a test site and I don't want members signing up.
I have the code snippet you provided in place, but the nice little additional line is not showing.
I love that feature, but won't get all bent out of shape if it can't be fixed. The main thing is the extra line is gone. *sigh*
Wait I'm confused, the line is still showing or it's gone now with the code I gave you?
And only the admin (you) will see the Register button. No one else, since sign-ups are disabled. That's just the way it is.
Jun 2, 2011 14:59:48 GMT -5
I'm sorry, Smangii, I explained that poorly.
The new code didn't work. Yes, it took away the 'added' line, but it also did not give the neat thin white line in the original code.
Thank you for the explaination on the Register button. I have my buttons in a specific area of the banner and when the Register button popped up, it pushed the buttons to the left and looked awful. I will remember that in the future.
Jun 3, 2011 17:00:20 GMT -5
Hello again! So, I went to make a skin using your guide. It's lovely, but I encountered one problem.
I'm not sure why, but the code from removing the "Hey..." And « Home » isn't working.
In my code, I have some of the things from your tutorial, and nothing else, with the removal code at the bottom of it.
Thanks for your time, I'd like to know if you can tell me what I'm doing wrong. x3
I'm around and round we go
OP
Moderator
Jun 3, 2011 18:03:16 GMT -5
Hello again! So, I went to make a skin using your guide. It's lovely, but I encountered one problem.
I'm not sure why, but the code from removing the "Hey..." And « Home » isn't working.
In my code, I have some of the things from your tutorial, and nothing else, with the removal code at the bottom of it. I saw zara standing in a line full with other patients, some in straightjackets :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X
Thanks for your time, I'd like to know if you can tell me what I'm doing wrong. x3
Can you provide a forum URL?
Jun 3, 2011 21:38:10 GMT -5
randompageforgraphic.proboards.com/It's a test forum actually. I am planning to make a roleplay forum soon, but I wanted to learn how to design the stuff first before I started on that.
I am pretty sure that code is the first thing I have in my Global Header now.
Jun 3, 2011 22:38:21 GMT -5
Hi! I've been tasked with doing a few forums for people because I do well with making graphics, so this site has been like a shinning beacon of hope for me. I have a question about the second backround though. I was wondering if there was a way to adjust it to a certain pixel width. I've been using
this code here for different skins, but when using this there is a very wide second backround, and if I adjust the width in the second backround code you're using here, it displays weirdly for people with smaller resolutions than mine. I think setting a specific width for the second backround would fix that? But I dont know how to code myself yet, just tweak codes I find.
I'm afraid if i tried to code something I would blow something up.
Jun 6, 2011 16:21:00 GMT -5
Hi! I've been tasked with doing a few forums for people because I do well with making graphics, so this site has been like a shinning beacon of hope for me. I have a question about the second backround though. I was wondering if there was a way to adjust it to a certain pixel width. I've been using
this code here for different skins, but when using this there is a very wide second backround, and if I adjust the width in the second backround code you're using here, it displays weirdly for people with smaller resolutions than mine. I think setting a specific width for the second backround would fix that? But I dont know how to code myself yet, just tweak codes I find.
I'm afraid if i tried to code something I would blow something up.
My personal suggestion is for you to make an account here and check out other code. It gives you actual insight on how things work and if you continue doing so you will be able to make your own stuff on the fly.
Jun 7, 2011 5:49:12 GMT -5
Thank you very much for this wonderful tutorial. Had I not signed up here, I wouldn't have encountered it ♥. I was actually looking around for PB skins I could use for my forum, but after reading this, what the heck, I'll just make my own. It's so lovely ♥~!
Ah, I have a question. I know we're able to change the forum width with a percentage value so that it would follow the width of the screen's resolution, but how is it that in this forum, even the welcome table and its banner is able to adjust itself to a resolution?
I'm around and round we go
OP
Moderator
Jun 7, 2011 19:19:55 GMT -5
Thank you very much for this wonderful tutorial. Had I not signed up here, I wouldn't have encountered it ♥. I was actually looking around for PB skins I could use for my forum, but after reading this, what the heck, I'll just make my own. It's so lovely ♥~!
Ah, I have a question. I know we're able to change the forum width with a percentage value so that it would follow the width of the screen's resolution, but how is it that in this forum, even the welcome table and its banner is able to adjust itself to a resolution?
When you set the forum width to a percentage, it automatically adjusts to the resolution. If you set it to a pixel width, it will remain that width on all monitors.
Jun 7, 2011 23:24:54 GMT -5
Thank you very much for this wonderful tutorial. Had I not signed up here, I wouldn't have encountered it ♥. I was actually looking around for PB skins I could use for my forum, but after reading this, what the heck, I'll just make my own. It's so lovely ♥~!
Ah, I have a question. I know we're able to change the forum width with a percentage value so that it would follow the width of the screen's resolution, but how is it that in this forum, even the welcome table and its banner is able to adjust itself to a resolution?
When you set the forum width to a percentage, it automatically adjusts to the resolution. If you set it to a pixel width, it will remain that width on all monitors.
Ah, I see. But how do you make it like in your banner, where the banner adjust itself?Oh, never mind, I figured it out. It just needed some CSS. Thanks!
Jun 14, 2011 16:20:58 GMT -5
This is great! But I require some help. My logo is made with Mybannermaker.com, and it won't work! It just doesn't show up. Is it because Mybannermaker isn't accepted?
I'm around and round we go
OP
Moderator
Jun 14, 2011 16:51:48 GMT -5
This is great! But I require some help. My logo is made with Mybannermaker.com, and it won't work! It just doesn't show up. Is it because Mybannermaker isn't accepted?
Make sure you only input the URL of the banner, the file that ends in a .png or .jpg or .gif
Jun 16, 2011 8:50:06 GMT -5
Thank u for the tut, its coming in helpful with designing a look for my boards. :-[The coding also very helpful to where i can add that special zing in the look of the boards thans again.
I'm around and round we go
OP
Moderator
Jun 16, 2011 11:16:21 GMT -5
Thank u for the tut, its coming in helpful with designing a look for my boards. :-[The coding also very helpful to where i can add that special zing in the look of the boards thans again.
The CSS? All can be added to global headers.
Proceed forth and do what you must
Jun 18, 2011 12:31:26 GMT -5
Very helpful, although for newbies the big lines of code can be daunting. It sort of makes newbies think it is way to complicated.